Arizona Physician DUI

Arizona Physician DUIAn Arizona physician who is charged with an Arizona Physician DUI, not only has to worry about the criminal consequences, but the professional repercussions with the Arizona Medical Board (“Board”) as well. Arizona law holds that any health professional who has been charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety (this includes a DUI) must notify their licensing board in writing within 10 business days after the charge is filed.

Being charged with a crime means that a police officer has issued an arrest or citation and has sent copies of their report to the prosecutor’s office for review. Failure to report the criminal charge within 10 business days may result in an act of unprofessional conduct and the Board may impose a fine in addition to disciplinary action. Many professionals are given bad advice from their criminal defense attorney and are told they only have to report a conviction. This is not true.

Here are some common questions professionals have regarding reporting a DUI charge to the Arizona Medical Board:

How to Report a DUI to the Arizona Medical Board

A: Contact me (an attorney) within 10 days of you being charged with a DUI and I can assist in drafting a response.

What Happens When I report a DUI to the Arizona Medical Board

A: The Board will initiate an investigation, and investigator will be assigned and you will most likely have to go in front of the Board at a Board Meeting.

What Factors of the DUI Will be Examined by the Board

  • What your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was.
  • If you are charged with an Extreme DUI, it is likely that the Board will order an addiction evaluation.
  • How many prior DUI convictions you have had.
  • Whether you have a history of substance abuse.
  • Do you have a record of substance abuse with your past employers.

Being charged with a DUI is a criminal offense that every physician should take seriously. The best advice I can give is to contact me immediately. Losing your driver’s license is one thing, but losing your professional license is something that must be avoided at all costs.

If you have been charged with an Arizona Physician DUI and are concerned about the repercussions it will have with the Arizona Medical Board contact Chelle Law.